Newly-retired Dallas Cowboys quarterback Tony Romo will attempt to win his first American Century Championship golf tournament this summer, returning to the celebrity field for the first time since 2012. (

The Cowboys all-time leader in passing yards and touchdowns, Romo played in the Lake Tahoe tournament for six consecutive years from 2007 through 2012. He was runner-up three successive years from 2009 – 2011, and had five top five finishes with an 11th place result. In 2011, Romo narrowed actor Jack Wagner’s 10-point lead on the back nine (modified Stableford format) prior to Wagner birdieing 17 to secure the victory.

Harrah’s and Harveys Race & Sports Book has installed Romo as a co-favorite to win with two-time defending champion Mark Mulder at 3 to 1. Now in its 28th year, the tournament is set for July 14-16 and offering a purse of $600,000, while raising money for local and national charities. The 54-hole competition tests the golf skills of 80-plus stars from sports and entertainment and has donated over $4 million to charity. Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course, a Golf Digest Top 100 Course, has hosted the tournament since its inception. The tournament will be televised live by NBC Sports and NBCSN that weekend.

Romo, who retired from the NFL in April, played 13 seasons with the Cowboys and was a four-time Pro-Bowler. In the fall, Romo will debut as the lead color commentator for CBS on NFL games. He is an accomplished amateur golfer who’s made several attempts at qualifying for the U.S. Open, including earlier this month when he missed advancing by only a few strokes.

Romo will join a field of entertainment, sports stars and Hall of Famers including Aaron Rodgers, John Elway, Charles Barkley, Jerry Rice, Emmitt Smith, Steve Young, Marshall Faulk, Derek Fisher, Jason Kidd, Deron Williams, Alex Smith, Bode Miller, Al Michaels, Larry the Cable Guy, Jack Wagner, Mike Modano and first timers Charles Woodson and Paige Spiranac, professional golf competitor and personality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.